Thread: So you want to own a Restaurant

Default So you want to own a Restaurant

I've read several places where people want to own a restaurant. As it was my dream for years too, I thought I would post the realities of owning one.

Hard, hard work. During season for several weeks I (and the hubby) were working 90 hours a week.

Employee's can be wonderful assets and also a pain in the ass. If one gets sick, or doesn't show up, a lot of the time you have to work their shift, whether its in the kitchen or waitressing. In other words you have to know how to do everything in the rest.
    We call our Rest. as the world turns, because of all the gossip, personality conflicts and drama queens. Practice being a mediator, you will need the skills.
    Same goes with the customers.

I spent weeks doing our menu's, and wanted to change them two days after I had them printed. Prices and menu ideas are one of the most difficult things to get right.

Food quality is tough, I have a Master book of my recipes. I do most of the cooking, but when I'm not there you have to depend on your cooks to get it right. Sometimes they do, sometimes they take shortcuts.

Money.. arrrghhh. Its feast or famine. You have to watch the bottom line at all times. We just discovered that someone was stealing. We know who did it, but we can't prove it, conclusively. If you just fire someone, without *reason* you have to deal with unemployment, so knowing they are stealing, we have to wait for a *mistake* to fire, at the same time hating what they did. WE immediately changed the system that allowed them to take advantage so they know we know, but still it makes me mad everytime I see them.

Constantly changing employee's, rest. are like a revolving door. You are always looking for people. The one's we love, we have to pay them well to keep them and the waitresses stay because of tips. In season its great, out of season its tough.