Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: picking locks and plate armo(u)r

Default picking locks and plate armo(u)r

Hi,

I am not good at mechanics in GS. I've gotten pretty far with my Ranger (who I rolled to play while looking for a capped rogue to pick up) and may as well complete the road to cap.

It's the most fun I've had in GS, honestly. The ranger game is seriously great. I change hunting style quite often, wether it's between different types of weapons or going into just casting.

I just wanted to know, is it at all feasable to hunt just like a rogue in full plate? Can I even train off the penalty for RT?
    I already hunt like a rogue most of the time just hide and ambush. When I used to hunt Nelemar as a rogue, the plate saved my life a lot. It would be sweet to use it again.
    Obviously I wouldn't really cast.
    Then just go back to brig or hauberk when casting again.

Also, I wonder if a ranger can train enough in locks and traps to pick properly as a profession. I've seen empaths that can do it so maybe it's possible?
    I'm not terribly familiar with it all tbf and feel like I'm learning all over again.
    I just loved playing a capped rogue and miss it sometimes. I just realised I already have one! Kind of

Thanks for any answers, its a big help.

''Picking locks and plate armor''

That wasn't supposed to sound like I meant picking plate armor like a lock. .

Blog Entries

You just need to learn to use your spells as a ranger. You can 2x armor just like a rogue so yes, you can wear plate like a rogue. Problem is, they can 3x hiding and get armor and CM skills that help their hiding, while you don't... Your equivalent stuff is in your spell circles, which... Yeah, you won't be casting. I haven't played ranger in a long time, but I see more benefit at stopping at Brig than continuing on. The class was designed to use the spells you get.