PDA

View Full Version : to many critters



eeky
10-08-2004, 01:55 PM
How would I make a script that had more then one critter in a room?

Latrinsorm
10-08-2004, 02:09 PM
If all you want to do is kill, it's no different. If you want it to run, I'd say the best way would be to have a "look second %s" section, where %s is the name of the creature. If it's a multiple creature hunting ground, it'd be a bit more complicated, naturally.

eeky
10-08-2004, 02:29 PM
I don't understand variables to much but what I'll have for example is:
match attack horse
matchwait

so would I write?
match next horse horse
matchwait

Telfaahga
10-08-2004, 02:36 PM
You have this under checkroom:

checkroom:
match start Sorry, you may only type ahead
match R%c You can't go there
match R%c I could not find what
match filter A spotted leaper
match filter1 A striped relnak
match R%c Obvious exits:
match R%c obvious paths:
matchwait

and then add as many filters as you need of course you need to make attack, attack1, then search, search1 or however you label them but thats really all.

[Edited on 10-8-2004 by Telfaahga]

eeky
10-08-2004, 02:50 PM
ok but lets say if there is more than one leaper I want to bypass that room?

Telfaahga
10-08-2004, 03:05 PM
ok well then I guess you could put

Match move You also see a (critter) and a (critter)

but thats kind of goofy if you ask me, if you aren't even strong enough to hunt when to of them are in the room might as well not bother.

Latrinsorm
10-08-2004, 03:40 PM
Telfaahga's suggestion is insufficient. There is no way for a Wizard script to figure out how many creatures are in a room based solely on the You also see: field. Here's a more robust example of what I was trying to say, starting after you know that there is a leaper in the room that you should be hunting (i.e. no one else in the room):

Checkroom:
put l second leaper
match Fight I could not find
match Flight You see a
matchwait

Fight would go to your attack loop, flight would return you to your movement loop.

[Edited on 10-8-2004 by Latrinsorm]

ogurty
10-08-2004, 07:23 PM
match rat a giant rat
match nextroom Obvious
matchwait
rat:
match nextroom a giant rat
match nextroom Also here
match nextroom Also in the room
match kill Obvious
matchwait


or would that just never stop to attack because it'll see the same rat twice?

[Edited on 10-8-2004 by ogurty]

Artha
10-08-2004, 07:33 PM
or would that just never stop to attack because it'll see the same rat twice?

Yes.

Psykos
10-08-2004, 09:26 PM
Shouldn't this topic be TOO many critters?

jafo
10-15-2004, 11:12 AM
I handle this is my kirmon SF hunter.

matchre R%c /(worker|defender)( and|,)/

This tell if to go to next room if it matches:
worker,
defender,
worker and
defender and

Latrinsorm
10-15-2004, 12:11 PM
Which works great, unless they drop anything. "You also see a kiramon defender and a citrine quartz" would cause your script to needlessly move on.

Deathravin
10-19-2004, 05:43 PM
match rat a giant rat
match nextroom Obvious
matchwait
rat:
match nextroom a giant rat
match nextroom Also here
match nextroom Also in the room
match kill Obvious
matchwait


This wouldn't work in wizard. it registers everything twice. so it would always see 2 rats. you'd have to make it look for 4 rats. lol.

[Edited on 10/19/2004 by Deathravin]