PDA

View Full Version : Command-line Game Entry?



JustDan
10-04-2013, 10:25 AM
I seem to remember seeing Tillmen mentioning at some point that this was possible...

Is there a way to launch GS in the front-end of your choice using a single command (or shortcut, or batch file, or whatever) from Windows? I'd love to have a series of shortcuts, or whatever, set up to launch each of my characters with one double-click or typed command.

Snoopy Dogg
10-04-2013, 12:19 PM
I seem to remember seeing Tillmen mentioning at some point that this was possible...

Is there a way to launch GS in the front-end of your choice using a single command (or shortcut, or batch file, or whatever) from Windows? I'd love to have a series of shortcuts, or whatever, set up to launch each of my characters with one double-click or typed command.

i have a script that does it.. somewhere, ill look for it

Snoopy Dogg
10-04-2013, 12:29 PM
ARGV.clear; ARGV.push '--login'; ARGV.push 'CharName'; ARGV.push '--reconnect'; ARGV.push '--start-scripts=ScriptName'

tillmen gave me that awhile back. not sure if it still works or not, put it in a script.. run it, make it a fav so it runs on startup n stuff. i was also told to type qui (quit without the t) ingame to test it after running.. so same to you. if it doesnt work, its tillmens fault :)

edit: er nvm.. i just seen you werent talking about auto reconnect, what youre talking about i have no clue, yay me

Tillmen
10-04-2013, 01:36 PM
rubyw.exe lich.rbw --login Charname

This only works if you have the login info already saved for quick game entry. If you have the same character name in more than one game, pick the game by adding --gemstone, --shattered, or --platinum.

You might need to add some paths to the command. If you're creating a shortcut, and you set the working directory of the shortcut to the directory where lich.rbw is, then you can probably use this command as it is. Otherwise, the command might look more like this:
rubyw.exe "C:\Documents and Settings\yourusername\My Documents\lich\lich.rbw" --login Yourcharactername
Or something else if you're not using XP. If Ruby wasn't added to the PATH environment variable when it was installed, you'll also need to put a path to rubyw.exe in the command.

JustDan
10-04-2013, 01:58 PM
rubyw.exe lich.rbw --login Charname

This only works if you have the login info already saved for quick game entry. If you have the same character name in more than one game, pick the game by adding --gemstone, --shattered, or --platinum.

You might need to add some paths to the command. If you're creating a shortcut, and you set the working directory of the shortcut to the directory where lich.rbw is, then you can probably use this command as it is. Otherwise, the command might look more like this:
rubyw.exe "C:\Documents and Settings\yourusername\My Documents\lich\lich.rbw" --login Yourcharactername
Or something else if you're not using XP. If Ruby wasn't added to the PATH environment variable when it was installed, you'll also need to put a path to rubyw.exe in the command.

You da man. Thank you.

ravashaak
10-04-2013, 02:11 PM
I'd been meaning to ask this same question for awhile now, so a big thumbs up to you both