View Full Version : counting npcs
Vindicate
05-05-2011, 10:16 AM
Trying to count how many npcs in a room
foes = GameObj.npcs.size {|npc| npc.noun =~ /kobold/}
The problem: foes = total amount of npcs, not just the kobolds
Thanks in advance
SpiffyJr
05-05-2011, 10:46 AM
Trying to count how many npcs in a room
foes = GameObj.npcs.size {|npc| npc.noun =~ /kobold/}
The problem: foes = total amount of npcs, not just the kobolds
Thanks in advance
foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }
Vindicate
05-05-2011, 06:53 PM
as far as I can see that doesn't give the quantity of the creatures (in this case kobolds) in the room.
check out census or pc-census on the repo. Not exactly what you want, it categorizes critters (or people) by status. But you can probably easily edit it.
SpiffyJr
05-05-2011, 10:07 PM
as far as I can see that doesn't give the quantity of the creatures (in this case kobolds) in the room.
foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }
Returns an array of NPC GameObj's. Like any Array, you can .size it to determine the number of elements.
;e foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun == 'kobold' }; echo foes.size
Or, I think you can use the new GameObj that Tillmen did (new, as in, when I still played). Assuming I remember correctly:
;e echo GameObj[/kobold/].size
Vindicate
05-05-2011, 10:34 PM
trying to size this array
Exception: undefined method `size' for #<GameObj:0xb615228>
pabstblueribbon
05-05-2011, 11:58 PM
foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }
if foes.length > 3
if foes.length = 3
etc.
Tillmen
05-06-2011, 12:32 AM
.find returns one, .find_all returns an array that you can get the size of.
SpiffyJr
05-06-2011, 09:26 AM
.find returns one, .find_all returns an array that you can get the size of.
Oh yah, that. I shouldn't be trying to give Ruby help when I haven't touched it in a long time.
pabstblueribbon
05-06-2011, 01:57 PM
Oh yah, that. I shouldn't be trying to give Ruby help when I haven't touched it in a long time.
Ditto.
Vindicate
05-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Your idea was sound, always thought .find created an array as well.
And that is what was screwing me up.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.