PDA

View Full Version : counting npcs



Vindicate
05-05-2011, 10:16 AM
Trying to count how many npcs in a room

foes = GameObj.npcs.size {|npc| npc.noun =~ /kobold/}

The problem: foes = total amount of npcs, not just the kobolds

Thanks in advance

SpiffyJr
05-05-2011, 10:46 AM
Trying to count how many npcs in a room

foes = GameObj.npcs.size {|npc| npc.noun =~ /kobold/}

The problem: foes = total amount of npcs, not just the kobolds

Thanks in advance

foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }

Vindicate
05-05-2011, 06:53 PM
as far as I can see that doesn't give the quantity of the creatures (in this case kobolds) in the room.

crb
05-05-2011, 08:34 PM
check out census or pc-census on the repo. Not exactly what you want, it categorizes critters (or people) by status. But you can probably easily edit it.

SpiffyJr
05-05-2011, 10:07 PM
as far as I can see that doesn't give the quantity of the creatures (in this case kobolds) in the room.

foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }

Returns an array of NPC GameObj's. Like any Array, you can .size it to determine the number of elements.

;e foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun == 'kobold' }; echo foes.size

Or, I think you can use the new GameObj that Tillmen did (new, as in, when I still played). Assuming I remember correctly:

;e echo GameObj[/kobold/].size

Vindicate
05-05-2011, 10:34 PM
trying to size this array

Exception: undefined method `size' for #<GameObj:0xb615228>

pabstblueribbon
05-05-2011, 11:58 PM
foes = GameObj.npcs.find { |n| n.noun =~ /kobold/ }

if foes.length > 3
if foes.length = 3
etc.

Tillmen
05-06-2011, 12:32 AM
.find returns one, .find_all returns an array that you can get the size of.

SpiffyJr
05-06-2011, 09:26 AM
.find returns one, .find_all returns an array that you can get the size of.

Oh yah, that. I shouldn't be trying to give Ruby help when I haven't touched it in a long time.

pabstblueribbon
05-06-2011, 01:57 PM
Oh yah, that. I shouldn't be trying to give Ruby help when I haven't touched it in a long time.

Ditto.

Vindicate
05-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Your idea was sound, always thought .find created an array as well.

And that is what was screwing me up.