PDA

View Full Version : policy?

Fatsix
06-08-2010, 11:35 AM
Is abuse of game mechanics against policy?

Bhaalizmo
06-08-2010, 11:37 AM
Indeed.

Liberi Fatali
06-08-2010, 11:43 AM
There's a group of Empath, Sorcerer and some other profession resting at my location, and they have a script set up that has the Sorcerer blood burst himself, and then the Empath heals them.

I've seen it running constantly since I started playing. I imagine he's probably level 50 by now.

AnticorRifling
06-08-2010, 11:44 AM
I doubt he's 50, and I doubt that's considered mechanics abuse in Shattered.

HJFudge
06-08-2010, 11:47 AM
Thats not considered mechanics abuse in shattered. However checking in and out of the inn, to adjust your HP through PF ranks or constitution or whatever, is.

thecapm
06-08-2010, 11:47 AM
I think it depends on what you mean by "game mechanics". If you have an empath/sorcerer combination as described, or something of the like that is normally mechanically possible, that'd be okay.

If you find a creature that you can skin multiple times, or find and item that you can somehow sell infinitely for unlimited silvers, that'd be in the realm of "bug abuse" and someone would certainly put a stop to it if they found out.

Liagala
06-08-2010, 11:48 AM
I doubt he's 50, and I doubt that's considered mechanics abuse in Shattered.

Correct on both accounts. I've been doing the exact same thing at a table (about half the time, instead of constantly like that one) and I'm not even titled yet. Also, GMs specifically stated that using a sorcerer to blood burst and healing with an empath is okay (as is any similar sort of script), on the officials. The mechanics abuse that ISN'T okay is abusing actual bugs, or using mechanics in a way that isn't intended - like using the insta-migration to take PF ranks away, add them back, and heal the "blood loss."

Edit: Between my sig and Anticor's edit reason above, I'm really beginning to wonder here.

Gnomon
06-08-2010, 11:49 AM