View Full Version : Problem installing Lich.
distrakt
02-26-2010, 11:17 PM
Hi, I am pretty new to linux and lich, but I followed all the instructions that were posted. I installed everything.. and when I run ./lich.rb... the install window pops up but its blank, there is no text or buttons or anything. I tried rebooting and everything.. anyone have any ideas?
Thanks,
distrakt
Tillmen
02-27-2010, 02:04 AM
A couple people on Linux have had that problem. I'd suggest compiling ruby-gtk2 from source. It's pretty simple. After uninstall the ruby-gnome2 or ruby-gtk2 you currently have installed, just extract the source, change directory, and type:
ruby extconf.rb
make
sudo make install
You can get the source from http://sourceforge.net/projects/ruby-gnome2/files/ruby-gnome2/ruby-gnome2-0.19.3/ruby-gtk2-0.19.3.tar.gz/download
You may have to install some devel packages in order to compile, depending on your distro. Just look for dev or devel stuck on the end of ruby and gtk packages in your package manager.
However, the GUI stuff is optional. Assuming you've got the SGE and the Simu launcher installed with WINE, you can type "./lich.rb --install", and log in with the SGE. You just won't be able to use narost (the map viewer). Most scripts with a GUI setup also have a text based setup.
Ugotfaced
02-27-2010, 10:53 AM
After I installed Lich my comp got a worm when I tried to run it.. Might want to check the program or something.. (I used the link in the website folder, and downloaded the stable version)
distrakt
02-27-2010, 11:43 AM
tried reinstalling ruby... no luck... any other suggestions? :(
thanks,
distrakt
Deathravin
02-27-2010, 11:50 AM
Freakin Ubuntu.
I just did the same thing and no dice. Same exact problem.
Order of operations:
install Ruby 1.9.1
install Ruby-gnome2 (this installed Ruby 1.8 for whatever reason)
Run lich - nothing in the window
uninstall 1.9.1
uninstall gnome2
install gnome2
Run lich - nothing in the window
damn gtk bindings.
Any ideas?
Deathravin
02-27-2010, 11:52 AM
Are you installing Ubuntu because your Windows 7 Beta license is running out in 2 days too? LOL
distrakt
02-27-2010, 11:59 AM
hahaha.. negative.. i installed it because i tried to do a system recovery on my hp laptop and it failed.. and they didnt provide me with recovery cds and they wanted me to order them. f that. :P
distrakt
Deathravin
02-27-2010, 12:12 PM
Well I can get it running with
ruby lich.rb --install
I did the updates, but 2 things...
A) Narost doesn't work (obviously, since its the GTK that's the problem in the first place)
B) I'm getting that whole...
>l
Cl what?
thing that I can't remember how to fix.
Alorn15
02-27-2010, 01:45 PM
I think that's what happens when you choose wizard in the SGE. Always choose stormfront, even if you want wizard. If you want wizard you need the fakestormfront.txt thing.
Tillmen
02-27-2010, 01:58 PM
You should only have to choose Stormfront in the SGE if you're using PsiNet, because PsiNet will connect to the wrong server if you choose the Wizard. On Linux.. I've never heard of this happening. Check your debug file to see what it's connecting to.
Tillmen
02-27-2010, 04:38 PM
I went ahead and installed Ubuntu to see if I could make any sense of the problem. I have a better idea of the problem, but it still doesn't make senese. About the most simple ruby-gtk script you could write is this:
require 'gtk2'
Gtk.main
And that works fine with the ruby/gtk packages from Ubuntu's repository. However, if you add another thread in there, even a thread that's not doing anything, like this:
require 'gtk2'
Thread.new { sleep 60 }
Gtk.main
the processor shoots up to 100% and stays there until the thread dies. This is what keeps the window blank. As soon as the thread dies, the processor drops back down and if you tried to put anything in a window, it shows up then. Lich always has threads running, and doing a lot more than sleeping.
Compiling ruby-gtk2 from source does fix this problem. In turn, using the Lich game entry will allow you the sidestep the problem of connecting to the wrong server, and getting a <c> in front of all your commands. On a fresh install on Ubuntu, here's how to do it.
Open a terminal and type the following:
sudo apt-get install ruby
sudo apt-get install libopenssl-ruby
sudo apt-get install build-essential
sudo apt-get install checkinstall
sudo apt-get install ruby-dev
sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-dev
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/ruby-gnome2/files/ruby-gnome2/ruby-gnome2-0.19.3/ruby-gtk2-0.19.3.tar.gz/download
tar -xf ruby-gtk2-0.19.3.tar.gz
cd ruby-gtk2-0.19.3
ruby extconf.rb
make
sudo checkinstall
cd ..
sudo apt-get install p7zip-full
wget http://lichproject.org/download/lich-4.1.13.zip
7z x lich-4.1.13.zip
cd lich
mv lich.rb{w,}
./lich.rb
Except for a couple prompts from the checkinstall command, that is everything I did to get it working. I had never heard of checkinstall before looking into this. It sounds like a good thing. It puts an entry in your package manager for the ruby-gtk2 you just compiled from source, making it very easy to uninstall and keep your system clean.
distrakt
02-27-2010, 10:00 PM
worked like a charm, Tillmen. you rock! :D
Thanks,
distrakt.
Deathravin
02-27-2010, 10:51 PM
Worked great. Ferris Bueller, you're my hero!
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.