PDA

View Full Version : rangers with two weapon

Kinslar
05-20-2009, 04:51 PM
I am very new to Gemstone so if these are silly questions please have patience. I currently play a level 6 ranger.

1) Is it possible to build a two weapon wielding ranger with useful ambush ability and some magic? How do you compensate for losing the shield?

2) I am currently specced to use edged weapons. Should I carry different types of weapons to use against mobs? My default weapon is a drake falchion. Should I also find a drake axe to use against armored mobs for instance?

3) Is there a way to consistently reduce the RT after an ambush or hide attempt? Currently seems to vary between 3 and 10 seconds. Much too long usually to take advantage of a stun or such.

Thanks

Bhuryn
05-20-2009, 05:11 PM
I'm no ranger expert, so if someone that plays a ranger comments, default to them:

1) Is it possible to build a two weapon wielding ranger with useful ambush ability and some magic? How do you compensate for losing the shield?

Virtually anything is possible in gemstone if you're willing to sacrifice. If you don't have it go to www.tsoran.com and download the excel character planner spreadsheet. It will help you figure out these things alot more easily.

2) I am currently specced to use edged weapons. Should I carry different types of weapons to use against mobs? My default weapon is a drake falchion. Should I also find a drake axe to use against armored mobs for instance?

You don't really need to worry about other weapons until later. If oyu have a hard time with something just kill something else. Eventually ambushing ranks will supercede the need for different weapon bases. Eventually you'll probably move down to faster weapons.

3) Is there a way to consistently reduce the RT after an ambush or hide attempt? Currently seems to vary between 3 and 10 seconds. Much too long usually to take advantage of a stun or such.