PDA

View Full Version : The big leap.

Trinitis
02-21-2004, 01:41 AM
Ok, I'm pondering this..and wondering what I should do.

I started playing around with my training plan on Adredrin today..mainly because everyone keeps telling me I'll be a lot stronger with a weapon/shield combo rather then my runestaff.

so I worked it out.

To pick up .5x shield and 1x edged...I loose all 10 of my tripples in spells, 36 ranks of perception, 33 ranks of elemental mana control, and 33 ranks of spirital mana control.

Does this seem worth it? I'd loose about 10-15 DS from 102, and 10-15 DS from 120..gain about 3-4 CS.

Any thoughts?

-Adredrin

Drew2
02-21-2004, 01:44 AM
People who tell you a sorcerer would be better with weapon/shield are idiots. Kill them immediatly.

His DS may be higher, but his casting goes down and he doesn't pwn as much. Stay with Runestaff, I say.

Also he won't get OHC bonus with sword in hand.

[Edited on 2-21-2004 by Tayre]

Betheny
02-21-2004, 08:52 AM
I've never had a problem with runestaff DS. On any character. The only reason you'll get a little higher DS is because you'll get set increases, and you'll get an extra bonus from whatever weapon and shield you use. Not really worth it in my opinion.

02-21-2004, 09:11 AM
its not worth it for sorcs, if you were a cleric yes, sorc no

Fallen
02-21-2004, 10:16 AM
Im a brawler. Cant help you.

StrayRogue
02-21-2004, 10:51 AM
My sorc has edged/shield. I can up hunt against critters whom have larger attacks quite easily. The points lost, to me, is moot, as Scroll Infuse or MIU aren't really worth the points (I .5x each). However, I'm also in studded leather armor and a giantman whom can take some beefy hits.