PDA

View Full Version : Flaring Armor



Maerit
05-11-2009, 11:24 AM
Couple questions on reactive armor flares.

Firstly, you cannot put flares on padded armor, right? Same thing with no flares on weighted weapons I would assume? (not talking spikes, but actual flares)

Secondly, if I am wearing padded full plate, and toss on reactive flaring greaves or arm protection, do those pieces still flare when damage is taken to the correct areas of the body? Does the padded full plate armor negate flares on individual armor pieces?

As a warrior, I take a lot of little nicks in combat, and reactive flares would be incredible I imagine. I am thinking about trying to pick up a pair of greaves and arm protection that have reactive flares, but I'm not sure they would even work since my full plate armor is heavily crit padded (and spiked).

Just to make sure... reactive flares do exist, right? All these flaring (not spiked) armor pieces actually inflict damage in reaction to taking damage, correct?

Fallen
05-11-2009, 11:30 AM
Firstly, you cannot put flares on padded armor, right? Same thing with no flares on weighted weapons I would assume? (not talking spikes, but actual flares)

Correct. There may be exceptions to the rule, but generally you cannot have flares with weighting/padding.


Secondly, if I am wearing padded full plate, and toss on reactive flaring greaves or arm protection, do those pieces still flare when damage is taken to the correct areas of the body? Does the padded full plate armor negate flares on individual armor pieces?

The parts covered by the flaring accessory with fire when struck, yet the padding on that area will be halved.


Just to make sure... reactive flares do exist, right? All these flaring (not spiked) armor pieces actually inflict damage in reaction to taking damage, correct?

They do exist. They are in the form of elemental flares, or rarely flares like Disintegrate, or Mana Disrupt. Spikes only flare when you perform an offensive maneuver. You CAN have both spikes and reactive flares on your armor at the same time. Both have the chance to go off at the same time during offensive maneuvers, but only the flares will trigger defensively.

Know that you receive a penalty of -10 to your CML roll for spiked gear inolved in the maneuver. I don't know if that penalty applies defensively, but I do know it applies offensively. I do not believe there is any penalty for having flaring armor, though.

Kitsun
05-11-2009, 11:31 AM
Right. Padding occupies the same slot as flaring(non-spike).

The flaring greaves will still flare because they will reside on top of the padded plate. I believe your padding will be cut in half however. If you had flaring fullplate and padded accessories, then it would not flare since it is being covered.

Reactive flares do exist for armor. This doesn't work for shields. Armor pieces can flare in response to being struck.

thefarmer
05-11-2009, 11:32 AM
Firstly, you cannot put flares on padded armor, right? Same thing with no flares on weighted weapons I would assume? (not talking spikes, but actual flares)

Correct


Secondly, if I am wearing padded full plate, and toss on reactive flaring greaves or arm protection, do those pieces still flare when damage is taken to the correct areas of the body? Does the padded full plate armor negate flares on individual armor pieces?

Yes. (You will also halve the padding on that body part.) No.


As a warrior, I take a lot of little nicks in combat, and reactive flares would be incredible I imagine. I am thinking about trying to pick up a pair of greaves and arm protection that have reactive flares, but I'm not sure they would even work since my full plate armor is heavily crit padded (and spiked).

You will have flares on your arms, with dcp (or whatever half hcp is) and no spikes.



Just to make sure... reactive flares do exist, right? All these flaring (not spiked) armor pieces actually inflict damage in reaction to taking damage, correct?

Armor flares aren't active or reactive (excluding god auction odd items) They cause damage with Cmans (active) and when hit (reactive).

Swami71
05-11-2009, 11:54 AM
Know that you receive a penalty of -10 to your CML roll for spiked gear inolved in the maneuver. I don't know if that penalty applies defensively, but I do know it applies offensively. I do not believe there is any penalty for having flaring armor, though.

Thats news to me

Fallen
05-11-2009, 12:02 PM
Thats news to me

Yeah. Fun times, huh? I believe it was Ildran who stated that this is to reflect on the unwieldly nature of spikes in combat.

Swami71
05-11-2009, 12:27 PM
Yeah. Fun times, huh? I believe it was Ildran who stated that this is to reflect on the unwieldly nature of spikes in combat.



And spikes don't activate on every hit right? Not sure if I like spikes now.

Fallen
05-11-2009, 01:24 PM
And spikes don't activate on every hit right? Not sure if I like spikes now.

Correct. They are much like flares in that regard.

Maerit
05-11-2009, 01:36 PM
Ahh, very interesting...

So, I have spiked HCP full plate, which means I have a -10 to my tackle manuever (not that I've been using it recently), which I did not seem to notice, so I guess that's not too bad. Master of tackle and being a Giant sort of makes the ability reliable. This doesn't impact ALL CMAN abilities, right? Just the ones that actually make use of the spikes?

If I added flaring leg/arm greaves I'd drop down to probably decent or somewhat crit padding on my legs and armors. With armor reinforcement, and Redux, this might not be too bad overall.

Will flares go off from elemental damage like boil earth or spikethorn? Or does it ONLY flare when hit with a physical attack in the protected area? These attacks are really the only kind that ever cause me to take more than a rank 1 wound, and with armor reinforcement I rarely get stacked wounds from physical attacks.

My armor is also max lightened, so I shouldn't experience any additional armor encumberance from wearing arm/leg protection, right?

Fallen
05-11-2009, 01:42 PM
Will flares go off from elemental damage like boil earth or spikethorn? Or does it ONLY flare when hit with a physical attack in the protected area?

My understanding is that flaring armor will go off for ranged attacks, which I BELIEVE includes magical bolts, but not maneuver attacks/spells.

DoctorUnne
05-11-2009, 04:10 PM
This doesn't impact ALL CMAN abilities, right? Just the ones that actually make use of the spikes?

Correct. Common CMANs that would be negatively impacted are tackle and sweep.


Will flares go off from elemental damage like boil earth or spikethorn? Or does it ONLY flare when hit with a physical attack in the protected area?

Only when hit by a physical attack, although it can be ranged. It will not flare reactively to bolt spells or spells like boil earth and spikethorn.


My armor is also max lightened, so I shouldn't experience any additional armor encumberance from wearing arm/leg protection, right?

You will still be encumbered by the weight of the accessories, but I think what you're asking is if having the armor lightened offsets the added weight of the accessories when compared to a standard set of unlightened armor with no accessories and the answer is usually yes.

The way it works is armor has a base weight depending on the ASG. For example, full plate is 75 lbs. The base weight does not factor into your encumbrance at all assuming you are fully trained for your armor. However, you can get a bonus by having lightened armor, so for example if you have 40 lb full plate in essence you're starting at -35 lbs of encumbrance. If you add 10 lbs worth of accessories you're still at -25 lbs of encumbrance, but you're still more heavily encumbered than you are without the accessories.