PDA

View Full Version : Debating releasing insider Aeternity info to SIMU

Revalos
07-17-2003, 12:47 AM
So...remember Aeternity? The game that Aephir left GS3 to start? Well, in May of this year, one day, the website ceased to exist. No warnings, no e-mails. Nothing. To this day, I have no idea what happened. All I can think of is that someone who owned the server equipment died or their house burned down, the server was hacked and formatted, or somehow the server got corrupted and was too expensive to replace.

Still, you'd think SOMEONE would tell those who worked for the company what the hell happened!

That's right...I was a designer that had been only recently hired in the previous october. Things had been falling apart there for some time, but as far as I could determine, work was being done to make it better. Hell, I put in a lot of work trying to get people interested in the game again.

Well, regardless of all that, I've still got everything from my work there. All the design schematics, descriptions, histories, just about everything related to the game itself.

So here's the issue. I've been considering turning it all over to SIMU so they could take a look at it and find some of the more interesting things helpful in designing new spells, new areas, creatures, and stuff. There are also a lot of improvements to how items are handled by the system, a method of changing room descriptions seasonally, a whole heap of stuff.

So...should I just send it for free? Should I try to sell it to them? Am I entitled to the information since the company no longer exists? How can I prove the company doesn't exist? Is this even something they'd be interested in in the first place?

I dunno. I'm having a crappy month since I can't find a job, and no place will give me a rental lease without one. These crazy ideas pop into my head you know.

[Edited on 7-17-2003 by Revalos]

Skaster
07-17-2003, 01:07 AM
Yes. Send it. Aeternity stole enough from GS.

imported_Kranar