PDA

View Full Version : Movement in hunting scripts....



xao92k
10-07-2008, 09:02 PM
I have been reading through some of the hunting scripts trying to get my head round how the script figures out where it can/can't go and how it finds it way back to the room to use the gohome label to rest. Also what the COUNTER command does?

Would a kind soul mind giving me a quick run down of how it works exactly?

Cheers for any input.

Malvadere
10-07-2008, 09:05 PM
This helped me get started
http://www.arkati.org/oldsite/scriptbasics.php

just practice a lot too

phantasm
10-07-2008, 11:32 PM
wizard scripts only have 2 variables that can be altered. %c and %s....often times you need to use a counter to store something, such as a previous movement.

xao92k
10-07-2008, 11:51 PM
So how does this:


starthunt:
pause .5
put w
counter set 1
goto checkroom

move1:
pause .5
put w
counter set 2
goto checkroom

move2:
pause .5
put w
counter set 3
goto checkroom

move3:
pause .5
put w
counter set 4
goto checkroom

Correlate with this:


checkroom:
match tohunt Sorry, you may only type
match move%c You can't go there
match move%c I could not find what
match filter a greater kappa
match move%c Obvious paths
matchwait

?

phantasm
10-27-2008, 08:15 PM
%c is the counter variable...so if its set to 1, and you goto move%c..the script will jump to the move1 address