PDA

View Full Version : "911, Please state your emergency."

Caels
07-10-2003, 01:02 PM
Going to take a typing test today to see if I qualify for that job.

Watch out, I won't take kindly to prank calls!

Caels
07-10-2003, 03:59 PM
Damn the bad luck to hell... I failed the test by one word... can't take it again for another 3 weeks.

Black Jesus
07-10-2003, 05:08 PM
what did the test consist of?

Warriorbird
07-10-2003, 06:08 PM
I've done dispatch work. A lot of people underestimate the difficulty and importance of it. Good luck. If you make it, you'll be doing something else good for the country.

Caels
07-10-2003, 07:49 PM
It was just a typing test, they tested for speed and accuracy.

I'm not good at typing without looking at the keyboard, so I only got 40 wpm, with 11 errors (not allowed to make corrections on the test), so my final score was 29 accurate wpm. 30 words was the cut-off.

Bestatte
07-10-2003, 08:56 PM
This is gonna sound really hokey but there's a great program designed more for kids than adults, but it works.

It's called Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing. It's kinda like the Evelyn Wood Speed-Reading course for typing and keyboarding, and can improve your speed and accuracy within a few days time.

In High School typing class, the goal to get an A grade was 40 words per minute with 0 errors. I think I did something like 37 with 2 errors and passed the course.

I have been tested in the past year and clocked at 79 WPM with 0 errors. My data entry score in KPS is even higher (keystrokes per second rather than words per minute). It comes from typing regularly, but there are a couple of tricks to it too.

The most important thing, is to never look at the keyboard when you're typing. Let your fingers learn where they're supposed to go. Once you learn, you will never get lost. Place a cloth over it if you have to.