PDA

View Full Version : For all those enquiring minds

Himmy
02-09-2007, 12:38 PM
(My timeline here is not exact. When you do this as much as I do, it all starts to blur together. The rest of this is strictly fact, however)

Since everyone (well, not technically EVERYONE, but alot of you) have been asking me where I've been, I figured I'd share. I am a Lighting Engineer for a major regional production company out of San Antonio Texas. We mostly do corporate work, and thus we slow down by alot during the summer. The logic behind that is that most of the corporate people are taking their vacations, yadda yadda yadda. Well, between the end of September and May is when the trade show world really starts to pick up. Right around Halloween I did ten one-off shows in ten days. Music events, despite my claim to doing mostly corporate work just a few sentences ago. Doing ten one-offs like that is fucking hard, I don't care who you are. There's no time to unload the entire truck, much less turn around the entire rig before you have to head out for the next show. It sucked. Most particularly during that period was the San Antonio stop for Kenny G. I did the lighting on that and it blew. Hard.