PDA

View Full Version : The Best of the Best Console Games Thread

Back
10-25-2006, 11:03 PM
Figured we could use a “catch-all” thread for console games since a title will come up for discussion semi-frequently and the discussions will eventually mention other titles and platforms. If this works maybe it could be stickied...

Since I purchased a new 46" DLP HD TV, and Tower Records has a crazy 30% off sale on console games (new titles included) I’ve stocked up on a few titles. Okami, Devil May Cry III, Onimusha III and Genji.

Finished off Genji in a few days. Beautiful game, but way too easy. I did not even bother to buy more than one custom weapon.

Working on Okami now which 3704558 recommended in the FFVII thread. As a graphic designer I am enthralled with this game. The unconventional treatment of 3D to make it appear like a watercolor painting is exceptionally executed. The innovation of the art brush techniques makes this already visually unique game a home-run on originality. They really out did themselves by combining the art brush techniques into every aspect of game-play... puzzle solving, combat, and environmental effects.

Most every character is an icon with a real personality and the story behind the game is based on an ancient legend which they capture and simplify well.

Well into a week of playing at least a few hours a night I am still not done. It has amazing sounds as well as an animal “love” system that I am anxious to discover the benefits of.

My biggest complaint about this game is the subtitles. Its distracting from the visuals. Another complaint is having to back-track to get all the goods. When I clear an area I like to forget about it. But this game will have you going back to all the places you’ve been throughout the entire game looking for secrets that your new abilities will allow you to acquire.

All in all one of the most innovative twists on a common genre I’ve played over and over and am enjoying immensely.

Volstock