PDA

View Full Version : A challenge for the programmers here.

GOD
01-03-2004, 05:25 PM
Okay, it seems one of my co workers like to talk shit, so i need to teach him a lesson, i figure a good lesson would be to restrict him from any computer access when i'm not here, so all he has to do is stare at the wall....so this is what i need help with...

I program in C++...but i'm just beginning, so i cant write code this complex:

I need a program that will:
upon activating the program with like a check box or a command prompt or something will start a timer and also place the program in windows startup, the timer needs to countdown starting at 10 minutes, when it hits 0, i need the program to force shut down the PC its on, then when the PC boots up, since its in windows startup, i need it to start the 10 minute count down again, and keep doing tihs continous loop until i turn the program off...

If someone can help me out with this...i'd be much appreciative.

-John

MrThorbizzle
01-03-2004, 05:27 PM
i could write that...but why not just put crumbs in his keyboard...i hate crumbs

GOD
01-03-2004, 05:27 PM
The way i plan to run the program is by connecting ot the PC he uses using a remot accessing client from the PC i use, then activating it that way so he never sees me on the computer. :-D

-John

GOD
01-03-2004, 05:29 PM
Because i want to really show him how much he needs to not piss me off because i will put an end to all of his entertainment while i'm not in the room.

-John

MrThorbizzle
01-03-2004, 05:34 PM
Here are the APIs I'd probably use:

RegKeyOpenEx, RegQueryValueEx, RegCloseKey - to query the value of the "Common Startup" registry key

GetSystemTime - for the timer

ExitWindowsEx - to shutdown

GOD
01-03-2004, 05:59 PM
Alright cool, that really helps, thanks.

-John

GOD
01-03-2004, 06:33 PM