PDA

View Full Version : Jury Duty

Back
02-03-2006, 05:51 PM
Back in November I got a summons. I didn't know I had one until December, after it expired, because I really don't check my snail mail more than once a month. Well, used to, now I check at least once a week...

Anyway, got it deferred, and went in two weeks ago. Guess what? I was selected to be a petit juror. We've just listened to two weeks worth of testimony by actual witnesses, expert testimony, depositions and lawyers arguments. Today it all wrapped up and we went into deliberation.

What a trip. Seriously. I've never had to decide on an actual case before. This is my first time going all the way from start to finish with a case. I'm finding the process very interesting.

I'm posting this to discuss the process only. I can't talk about the particulars of the case, yet.

First of all, the testimony. The part where both sides say everything they have to say, with all their witnesses, making all their points, refuting other points, and everything that goes into a trial before deliberation.

We, as jurors, are told to only weigh the facts of the case. Well, someone should tell that to the lawyers because their opening and closing statements were presented as if they were beyond a reasonable doubt facts. Seriously, and I dont know if its these particular lawyers because I have nothing else to base it on than TV or movies, these lawyers may as well be on TV because they are so passionate about what they are saying its easy to fall into believing them. Its like they were on trial. And while I would like to think they believe beyond a shadow of a doubt in their cases and fight for them passionately because of some moral or ideological standpoint, I know THEY ARE LAWYERS MAKING A PAYCHECK.