PDA

View Full Version : Wolf Hybrids

Fallen
01-11-2006, 11:08 PM
Sometime next month, I will be going to NC to pick up my new wolfdog. I've some experience with large breed dogs, and a background in veterinary medicine. I know that raising one of these animals will be a particular challenge, and I am greatly anticipating the months and years to come.

Having said that, I am also a bit apprehensive about exactly how I am going to train the dog. All of the books I have read regarding this particular breed of animal go as far as to rule out any and all manner of negative reinforcement when dealing with the animal.
As i've said, i've grown up with dogs, and all of them wore chokes. The animals were extremely well trained, and after a fashion no longer required a leash to walk safely. My parents also believed in hitting an animal when it was caught in the act of doing something wrong. Nothing too abusive, but enough to get the anmal's attention. Again, these dogs were not overly fearful or skiddish.

-------

My question to all of you here is does any of the PC posters have experience with wolf hybrids? If not, have any of you trained large breed dogs (successfully)? If so, what type of stance do you take on training? Any sources you would recommend?

Advice is welcome.

P.S.

No, I won't take the advice of not getting a hybrid.

Grin

HarmNone
01-11-2006, 11:24 PM
By putting "Wolf hybrid" into Google, I was able to find quite a few sites with information that would be helpful to you, Fallen. There are also organizations of wolf dog owners that supply educational materials to prospective owners. :)

Fallen
01-11-2006, 11:26 PM
Yep. Believe me, i've looked and learned. I was simply looking to see if anyone on the PC boards had any insights to offer.

Thanks for the advice, HN.

HarmNone
01-11-2006, 11:27 PM
Sure, hon. By the way, what breed of dog is involved in the mix, and what percentage of wolf is the puppy?

Fallen
01-11-2006, 11:31 PM
Http://www.youngwolf.com