View Full Version : Checking for Haste
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 03:30 PM
I'm trying to create a segment in a script that will check to see if I already have Haste running, if not, Cast it on myself and then proceed to attack an ogre. I've been messing with it for awhile now and it either freezes up after the Spell Active check or on other variations, will cast 506 regardless if its on my Spell Active list.
On this version, it freezes up on the Spell Active command and will only continue if I actively put in Incant 506 in the command line. It doesn't seem to identify "Haste" after I put in Spell Active. Any thoughts?? Thanks!
Lookkin
Check506:
put spell active
waitfor You currently have the following
match Kill Haste
matchwait
ECHO **** Casting haste
Cast506:
match Kill You begin to notice
Match Cast506 [Spell Hindrance
put incant 506
pause 3
matchwait
Kill:
put Stance off
put att ogre
GSLady17
08-21-2005, 03:33 PM
I don't know much about scripts...but why do you have kill in there? Why not just match haste?
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 03:37 PM
Originally posted by GSLady17
I don't know much about scripts...but why do you have kill in there? Why not just match haste?
Because it would be redundant to cast Haste again if I already have it running (and a waste of mana). The point of this part of the script was to check for Haste and if its running, kill the ogre, if not, cast haste and then kill the ogre.
Something along those lines.
Whaddya think?
Lookkin
Bobmuhthol
08-21-2005, 03:50 PM
This script doesn't even make sense. You have a matchwait for Haste. That means it waits until it sees "Haste" before it does any other action. This is very possible with Jamus' engine if you do a matchpause, will continue if nothing matches within x number of seconds, but the script you have is totally useless.
GSLady17
08-21-2005, 04:11 PM
If all you want it to do is haste yourself, here is a simple one that doesn't check for round time or anything...
#hasteme.Cmd
MAIN:
put incant 506
wait
goto LOOP
LOOP:
match MAIN normal speed.
matchwait
Bobmuhthol
08-21-2005, 04:14 PM
...
You can't seriously think that helps him at all.
Because it would be redundant to cast Haste again if I already have it running (and a waste of mana). The point of this part of the script was to check for Haste and if its running, kill the ogre, if not, cast haste and then kill the ogre.
Renian
08-21-2005, 04:15 PM
Try this:
Check506:
put spell active
match Kill Haste
match Cast506 >
matchwait
Cast506:
ECHO **** Casting haste
put incant 506
match Kill You begin to notice
match Cast506 [Spell Hindrance
matchwait
Kill:
put Stance off
put att ogre
match Kill ...wait
match End You swing
match OhFuck You are still stunned
matchwait
End:
Exit
OhFuck:
Echo ***OH FUCK***
[Edited on 8-21-2005 by Renian]
GSLady17
08-21-2005, 04:19 PM
Originally posted by Lookkin
I'm trying to create a segment in a script that will check to see if I already have Haste running, if not, Cast it on myself and then proceed to attack an ogre. I've been messing with it for awhile now and it either freezes up after the Spell Active check or on other variations, will cast 506 regardless if its on my Spell Active list.
On this version, it freezes up on the Spell Active command and will only continue if I actively put in Incant 506 in the command line. It doesn't seem to identify "Haste" after I put in Spell Active. Any thoughts?? Thanks!
Lookkin
Check506:
put spell active
waitfor You currently have the following
match Kill Haste
matchwait
ECHO **** Casting haste
Cast506:
match Kill You begin to notice
Match Cast506 [Spell Hindrance
put incant 506
pause 3
matchwait
Kill:
put Stance off
put att ogre
Also, yours is freezing because of the waitfor in the beginning. When you are trying to match you don't want to use the wait command before the matches. The script won't see whatever you are trying to match for otherwise.
Just take out waitfor completely.
Also, you have to match something if haste is not on you actively to invoke it to cast. Since it's hard to tell with spell active, it's not really an easy way to do that. You'd have to get all your spells you always wear out there to match....yet, the order on you isn't always the same. So yeah, I wouldn't use spell active.
GSLady17
08-21-2005, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by Bobmuhthol
...
You can't seriously think that helps him at all.
Because it would be redundant to cast Haste again if I already have it running (and a waste of mana). The point of this part of the script was to check for Haste and if its running, kill the ogre, if not, cast haste and then kill the ogre.
Why not? All he has to do is add the hunting shit in there.
I said it was a simple script that just ensured you had haste on you all the time without checking rt. It does everything I said.
Atleast I gave him something instead of your comment which only told him his was useless.
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 04:27 PM
Originally posted by Bobmuhthol
This script doesn't even make sense. You have a matchwait for Haste. That means it waits until it sees "Haste" before it does any other action. This is very possible with Jamus' engine if you do a matchpause, will continue if nothing matches within x number of seconds, but the script you have is totally useless.
Its not making sense to SF either, but thanks for confirming that I have no logic built into it. ::sighs::
I was waiting for it to confirm in the "spell active" list if haste was there - thats what the waitfor was intended. If it was there, it went to the Kill: if not, then incant 506. I just dont know a function for IFNOT...
Bobmuhthol
08-21-2005, 04:30 PM
<<If it was there, it went to the Kill: if not, then incant 506. I just dont know a function for IFNOT...>>
That's the whole thing. There isn't, so it's impossible for that script to work.
StrayRogue
08-21-2005, 04:32 PM
Your script is useless Teeoncy because it can't be added to another script or as part of a hunting script.
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 04:35 PM
Originally posted by Renian
Try this:
[Edited on 8-21-2005 by Renian]
Ok..it worked!! Why did it work? The match cast506 > was the ticket but why?
Thanks for the help and additional feedback.
Lookkin
StrayRogue
08-21-2005, 04:37 PM
Match cast506 works because it will retry the cast if you get spell hindrance. Personally I'd do another line of the same just matching for spell rt.
GSLady17
08-21-2005, 04:40 PM
Originally posted by StrayRogue
Your script is useless Teeoncy because it can't be added to another script or as part of a hunting script.
Does exactly what I said it would do.
On another note;
Glad you have one that works now. :)
StrayRogue
08-21-2005, 04:41 PM
Congratulations, what you said it could do doesn't or wouldn't aid him in anyway. You may as well have posted that script in binary for all the good it would have done.
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 04:42 PM
in the original script - the waitfor was absolutely uncessary - I see that now. The status prompt is the inidicator to recast if Haste was not found in the Spell Active listing. I think I get it...
Lookkin
StrayRogue
08-21-2005, 04:44 PM
As Bob said, Lookin, in your first script it would hang if you didn't have Haste up because you only had one match in the first label - and that match was to only activate IF you had haste already up.
Lookkin
08-21-2005, 05:00 PM
Good point. I read what Bob said, just didn't sink in until now.
Renian
08-21-2005, 05:25 PM
Right, what Bob said. The > was the ticket because if it can't find haste, your command line > will be the next thing it sees.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.5 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions Inc. All rights reserved.