PDA

View Full Version : Battlestar Galactica Season 1 Soundtrack

Izalude
06-10-2005, 12:33 PM
So... After while watching the Series, all along, I'd make comments to my girlfriend saying, "Wow... Whoever writes the music to this series really has talent." So in doing a little research, I find that he's an aspiring composer named Bear McCreary. So I order the soundtrack, and it arrives yesterday. I open the package, and much to my surprise, there's an autographed copy of the CD cover inside, signed by Bear McCreary. Needless to say, I was delighted!

I'm a musician myself. I compose music with cakewalk. Most of it is new age, but ocassionally I'll write a classical piece. Another thing I enjoy doing is listening to a song over-and-over, then transcribing it by ear to a midi file. I do that with mostly game music. Most of these songs, however, I don't have a snowball's chance in hell of doing it. They're written in a style of music that I've always had trouble with.

Edit: Anyways, I tried attaching a song, but I guess the site rejected it, because it was too big. If you've seen the series and liked the music, I reccomend grabbing the soundtrack. I got it from here: http://www.lalalandrecords.com/GalacticaSeasonOneNew.html

[Edited on 6-10-2005 by Izalude]

CrystalTears
06-10-2005, 12:50 PM
Thanks for the link. Season 1 was excellent and I can't wait for July for the second season. I'm more anxious for the DVD to come out, but the series did have a great soundtrack. I may pick this up. :)

Skirmisher
06-10-2005, 12:53 PM
I didn't even know the two part mini series was out till I saw CT's post regarding her picking it up a while back.

I have the entire first season on vhs, but was really glad to pick up the mini series DVD at Best Buy the other day.

Thanks!

Toxicvixen
06-10-2005, 03:27 PM
Heh, I should check out the new series. My mom actually had to wait to get to the hosipital to have me because my father wanted to finish watching Battlestar Galatica. :lol: