PDA

View Full Version : C*nt at my work (semi-long)

Wezas
04-12-2005, 11:46 AM
I realize this should probably be in my journal, but I wanted to open it up in case other people have related experiences.

I am a programmer. Before last year, I was an analyst for the part of our office that actually did the work. I did alot of "on-the-fly" programming when it was called for (and when we didn't feel like waiting for the actual programmers to code it).

Fast forward, I'm moved in with the rest of the programmers. A month ago I get an E-mail sent Thursday night that says because of security concerns, we can no longer send our financial transactional information through E-mail. It needs to be output into Excel with drop-down lists of responses and then zipped up with 128-bit encryption and sent.

All needed to be done by the Monday morning.

And I was the only one who could do it in that short of time.

So I spend all of Friday racking my brain, copying code from every internet source I know so that I can automate it through our system (drop-downs in Excel aren't fun to code outside of Excel). Didn't even have time to play any WoW from work :(

I do more work over the weekend and it's working on Monday.

::deleted mean paragraph here::

It runs fine for a month and then one day there is an error. Basically the problem was that one of the banks had no transactions that needed to be sent. I send an E-mail out about the bug, and I fix it.

Meeting this morning. I explained that I fixed the bug yesterday in the meeting. C*nt (DBA) starts complaining how I don't follow the rules. She starts going on and on about how I didn't have two different other people test and certify it (the testers take almost a week to get through something).

My boss starts explaining the urgency of the project to C*nt, but she's still bitching. I start to explain it to her, and my boss tells me basically that she doesn't need an explination.