PDA

View Full Version : SIG P-239 ".357 Sig" ?

Vad
02-06-2005, 11:52 PM
Looking for some advice on a pistol - I'm purchasing something for daily fire/concealed carry, and right now i'm leaning towards the P-239. I really like the setup, it seems to me like the closest I can get to a P-220 without it being a .45 acp (sadly) or a full size. If not for the size constraints in a carry pistol i'd go for a full size GSR 1911, but given the fact that I don't like to freak people out and therefore would opt for an ankle holster, a personal size P-239 is my best bet. In this model, my options are 9mm parabellum (ugh) .40 SW, or .357 "sig".

My question is this. Why is the description on the .357 so specific in it being a ".357 Sig" and not a .357 magnum. I'm a newbie to ammo, and I don't know what the difference is - If there is any. Can anyone clear this up? Is there a verifiable difference in stopping power, or is this just a signature line for Sigarms?

:noob:

pennywise
02-07-2005, 12:05 AM
If you plan to fire it with any regularity, go with the 9. If there will be some learning involved (I know, everyone is a gun expert, but still), go with a 9. All for the same reason: ammo price. 9 is significantly cheaper than 40 or 357 sig and will be a better choice for running alot of rounds through the pistol. A 9 is a fine round for punching through paper or for self defense. Its not the best, Id prefer a 40 of the three choices for self defense, if I were to switch from a revolver to an auto, but a 9 is good with the right ammunition.

Sig is a different round than the magnum. Magnum is bigger, badder, and totally unsuitable for automatic pistols. 357 sig is shorter and made for auto pistols. Im no expert on the ballistic differences and whatnot, so check your ammo manufacture of choice's web site, they will have all the info.

Pennywise