PDA

View Full Version : gtk2 install fail



slowhubb
10-05-2016, 07:20 PM
Howdy,

Just installed ruby 2.0, lich 4.6.33, got sqlite3 downloaded, but the gtk2 install keeps failing.

When the cmd box pops up, it gives an error message, but it disappears too quickly for me to read. Says something about missing gems.

Any help/advice?

Running on Windows 10.

Thanks

slowhubb
10-05-2016, 07:37 PM
Howdy,

Just installed ruby 2.0, lich 4.6.33, got sqlite3 downloaded, but the gtk2 install keeps failing.

When the cmd box pops up, it gives an error message, but it disappears too quickly for me to read. Says something about missing gems.

Any help/advice?

Running on Windows 10.

Thanks

8167

Gearhead
10-06-2016, 10:45 PM
I'm having the same problem. Have you found a solution yet?

Specialk
10-08-2016, 03:49 PM
Having same issue. Have uninstalled and reinstalled a couple times following the directions carefully on windows 7. Has anyone navigated this issue recently?

chalion
10-08-2016, 04:14 PM
people on lnet said they had to download the file from http:// instead of https://
Beyond that they werent specific as to what they did.
Looks like it might be a cert issue on the site ? http://rubygems.org

jumbodog
10-08-2016, 05:46 PM
Try this from command prompt:

gem install cairo -v 1.14.3 --source http://rubygems.org/
gem install gtk2 -v 2.2.5 --source http://rubygems.org/

You'll get errors for the documentation. Ignore those.

MAKE SURE you're using the x86 version not the x64 version. The pain is real here. Too many dependencies for me to work through compiling on my own. Just press the easy button and don't be stubborn like me.

Two hours later, I'm out of the time I had to start playing again today. :/ But at least I got Lich working!!!

Specialk
10-08-2016, 07:19 PM
Try this from command prompt:

gem install cairo -v 1.14.3 --source http://rubygems.org/
gem install gtk2 -v 2.2.5 --source http://rubygems.org/

You'll get errors for the documentation. Ignore those.

MAKE SURE you're using the x86 version not the x64 version. The pain is real here. Too many dependencies for me to work through compiling on my own. Just press the easy button and don't be stubborn like me.

Two hours later, I'm out of the time I had to start playing again today. :/ But at least I got Lich working!!!

Thanks Jumbo! Your fix worked. I'm fairly new to this stuff so maybe it was assumed, but I had to change the CMD line prompt slightly to get it to work.

Here's what I typed into CMD prompt:

c:\Ruby200\bin\gem.bat install cairo -v 1.14.3 --source http://rubygems.org/
c:\Ruby200\bin\gem.bat install gtk2 -v 2.2.5 --source http://rubygems.org/

As Jumbo stated, it will kick back a couple odd errors, but it will also download/install all the gem.bat files necessary.

Specialk
10-08-2016, 07:23 PM
people on lnet said they had to download the file from http:// instead of https://
Beyond that they werent specific as to what they did.
Looks like it might be a cert issue on the site ? http://rubygems.org

I meant to thank you for kicking off the chain of new information as well. Thanks Chalion!

chalion
10-08-2016, 07:33 PM
just glad we have more people playing!

nitefallz
10-08-2016, 09:29 PM
I had to manually download the non-x64, Windows versions of the following gems

gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
glib2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
gdk_pixbuf2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
pango-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
atk-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
pkg-config-1.1.5.gem
cairo-1.14.3-x86-mingw32.gem

Then I ran from the commandline at \Ruby200\gem.bat install --local cairo-1.14.3-x86-mingw32.gem, gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem --no-ri --no-rdoc

Seemed to work for me

nichelas
10-09-2016, 10:38 AM
I hate this fucking error. Manually downloaded all the gems, installed as noted above and I still get the same message. Anyone coming up with slightly different solutions?

nitefallz
10-09-2016, 11:20 AM
I hate this fucking error. Manually downloaded all the gems, installed as noted above and I still get the same message. Anyone coming up with slightly different solutions?

Did you follow the instructions I posted and get the exact gems? I did it twice on two machines so far, no problems. First time I accidentally had an x64 gem installed, then I installed the proper one and it still caused the error until I manually deleted the x64 gem.

Ragepriest
10-11-2016, 11:59 AM
I had to manually download the non-x64, Windows versions of the following gems

gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
glib2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
gdk_pixbuf2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
pango-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
atk-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem
pkg-config-1.1.5.gem
cairo-1.14.3-x86-mingw32.gem

Then I ran from the commandline at \Ruby200\gem.bat install --local cairo-1.14.3-x86-mingw32.gem, gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem --no-ri --no-rdoc

Seemed to work for me

Step one and already things are going south. I just went to https://rubygems.org, did a SEARCH for "gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem" and received a NO GEMS FOUND response. Should I be downloading them from a different site?

Ragepriest
10-11-2016, 01:55 PM
Step one and already things are going south. I just went to https://rubygems.org, did a SEARCH for "gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem" and received a NO GEMS FOUND response. Should I be downloading them from a different site?

Disregard that, I just did a google search for the terms and it led me to them. I downloaded each one individually, dropped them in the /bin directory, then ran the command line nitefallz recommended. pkg-config, cairo, glib2 and atk all installed fine, but then I received the following message:

ERROR: Error installing gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem: The 'pango' native gem requires installed build tools.

I have NO idea what that means or what to do next. Any guidance available?

For the record, and I know this isn't really the fault of any of you, but someone should seriously look into this install issue. The event shouldn't have to be an event and it shouldn't have to be so annoying and complicated- it should be a simple NEXT->NEXT->INSTALL->FINISH process without any further work by the end user.

m444w
10-11-2016, 02:26 PM
The problem is most likely that people are not clicking the "add executables to %PATH%" option when running the Ruby installer on windows since it is no longer the default and it isn't on the download instructions, which subsequently a lot of the utilities for handling gems are not easily findable by programs. It should really be added to the install instructions on https://lichproject.org/download.html

Ragepriest
10-11-2016, 03:09 PM
The problem is most likely that people are not clicking the "add executables to %PATH%" option when running the Ruby installer on windows since it is no longer the default and it isn't on the download instructions, which subsequently a lot of the utilities for handling gems are not easily findable by programs. It should really be added to the install instructions on https://lichproject.org/download.html

You would be correct- I only selected the "Associate..." option. Would a ruby reinstall do the trick?

Black Bard
10-11-2016, 08:06 PM
A lot of good advice. Let's put it all together:

For windows 10, this is what you have to do:

Once you extract lich, you will get the lich.rbw but it looks like a blank sheet.
Change the extension to .rb
Go to your start menu and you should see "Start Command Prompt with Ruby"

You will get C:\something something already here>

Open this then copy/paste what jumbodog stated above right after it:
gem install cairo -v 1.14.3 --source http://rubygems.org/
gem install gtk2 -v 2.2.5 --source http://rubygems.org/

Run each one, until it finishes with a bunch of warning garbage. At the end it will tell you it installed gems.

When it's done, close the window.

Go back to the lich icon in your folder. It should work...

If you get another error message: error: Invalid argument - "C:\Program blah blah\SIMU\Launcher.exe" and C:\blah blah\lich4287.sal and all you get is a black ruby command screen that times out after you try to log in...

Then do this:

Uninstall Ruby. Reinstall Ruby.
This time click ALSO the "Add executables" box (so the last two are selected).
Thanks to Ondreian, who pointed this out again - this was my missing link FOREVER.

Hopefully this will help.

-Talinvor

m444w
10-11-2016, 10:28 PM
You would be correct- I only selected the "Associate..." option. Would a ruby reinstall do the trick?

I anticipate yes, but no longer have access to a Windows machine to verify. It seems to have solved the problem for others

nitefallz
10-12-2016, 02:13 PM
Search for gt2k only or go here:

https://rubygems.org/gems/gtk2/versions/2.2.5-x86-mingw32

Ragepriest
10-12-2016, 06:05 PM
Okay, so we're getting closer. I was able to get lich to start up, but now I'm receiving this:

8181

Maviur
10-12-2016, 06:37 PM
Same problems i'm having. My monitor broke and the new one some how messed my game up. So I tried to reload ruby/lich and can't get into the game. I see all the help above but i'm untechy. Like learning a new language. I can get ruby and lich going but the gtk2 step is (insert curse words of choice). I'm on 8.1. Just seen this page and now will fumble my way through some of the advise from above.................Now play.net won't install. After I save then Run I get this error....C:"C:\Users\George\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_lich-4.4.19.zip\lich\lich.bat" \help32txt' could not be opened... Never been this painful just to get into this dam game.

Tillmen
10-14-2016, 12:58 AM
I had some time to work on this tonight, so I tried to fix it the right way, and then I gave up, so here's a terrible solution which should work:

https://lichproject.org/download/lich-4.6.37.zip

This update just downloads the gtk2 stuff over plain http instead of https.

The issue seems to be (at first) that rubygems.org changed its SSL certificate to something that older versions of rubygems doesn't think is valid. Rubygems has a few CA certificates that it uses, and rubygems.org changed its SSL certificate to one that wasn't signed by any of the CA certificates included with rubygems, so all we need to do is install the proper certificate in the proper place and everything should work. And since certificates are small, I can imbed it in Lich and have Lich automatically install it before attempting to install the gems.

However, after installing a several different CA certificates that were supposed to work, including one that I exported myself from a web browser while visiting rubygems.org, nothing seemed to work. Updating rubygems to a version that was supposed to work, didn't work. I started to assume this was a bug introduced in a recent version of Ruby, so I reinstalled a previous version of Ruby which had worked before.... didn't work.

I've run out of time to work on this, so you get the terrible solution above.



ERROR: Error installing gtk2-2.2.5-x86-mingw32.gem: The 'pango' native gem requires installed build tools.

I have NO idea what that means or what to do next. Any guidance available?


gtk2 requires pango to be installed first, and since you didn't install it first, it decided to automatically install it for you. As you may have noticed, that's not really working on Windows at the moment. However, the way that it isn't working is different for you than the other people in this thread.

It's attempting to install pango from source code because there isn't a precompiled binary available for that ruby/pango version combination. But that also means that it downloaded pango without an SSL error. If you stuck "--source http://rubygems.org/" in the install command, then that's to be expected. Otherwise, I'd like to know what version of Ruby and Windows you were using that doesn't have the SSL error.

Anyhow, it looks like you have the wrong version of Ruby. A gem compiled for Ruby 2.0 won't work on Ruby 1.8 or Ruby 2.1. And a gem compiled for 32bit Ruby 2.0 won't work on 64 bit Ruby 2.0. Someone went and compiled the gems we need for 32bit Ruby 2.0, so that's what we use (on Windows; this nonsense doesn't affect other operating systems). From the error message, it looks like you have the right version of gtk2, so the version of pango that was automatically downloaded should have also been correct. And by correct, I mean there's a precompiled binary for that version of pango on 32bit Ruby 2.0. It should only complain about build tools if you're not using 32bit Ruby 2.0.

You could probably complete your manual install of gtk2 by doing the other gems first and gtk2 last, but then again it shouldn't actually function if those gems were compiled for 32 bit Ruby 2.0.

In theory you could also install the build tools and compile all the gems yourself, but you don't want to do that. You just don't.

So, uninstall Ruby, install 32bit Ruby 2.0, and try https://lichproject.org/download/lich-4.6.37.zip



Same problems i'm having. My monitor broke and the new one some how messed my game up. So I tried to reload ruby/lich and can't get into the game. I see all the help above but i'm untechy. Like learning a new language. I can get ruby and lich going but the gtk2 step is (insert curse words of choice). I'm on 8.1. Just seen this page and now will fumble my way through some of the advise from above.................Now play.net won't install. After I save then Run I get this error....C:"C:\Users\George\AppData\Local\Temp\Temp1_lich-4.4.19.zip\lich\lich.bat" \help32txt' could not be opened... Never been this painful just to get into this dam game.

This is caused by Lich linking to SGE. Lich changes an entry in the Windows registry so that when SGE looks for the Simu Launcher, it finds Lich instead. Sadly, when reinstalling the Simu Launcher, it apparently looks for a previously installed Simu Launcher using the same registry entry, and tries to read the help32.txt file in that location... I guess. When it can't read it, it decides to end it all.

You should be able to fix this by starting Lich, switching to the Link tab, and clicking "Unlink from SGE". Or if you're still using Lich 4.4.19 as the message indicates, I think it's an uninstall tab and uninstall button in the Lich window. I don't remember. After that, you should be able to install the Simu Launcher. You can then have Link link to SGE again, but you only need to do that if you want to have Lich active when you log in with the SGE.

Either way, don't keep Lich in a temp folder... it's not really in a temp folder like the message says, is it?


If you get another error message: error: Invalid argument - "C:\Program blah blah\SIMU\Launcher.exe" and C:\blah blah\lich4287.sal and all you get is a black ruby command screen that times out after you try to log in...

Then do this:

Uninstall Ruby. Reinstall Ruby.
This time click ALSO the "Add executables" box (so the last two are selected).
Thanks to Ondreian, who pointed this out again - this was my missing link FOREVER.




... that doesn't work, does it? I wasted so much time trying to fix that error. I don't know if I can handle it if this is the solution.

I can't test this myself, because my virtual machines never get this error. Can you reproduce this by installing Ruby with and without "add executables" checked a few times and see if the error comes and goes? You'll also need to get rid of lich.db3 each time (rename it or something, don't lose all your settings), or else it'll just move on to another launch method after the failure and you'll be testing a different launch method each time.

Tenzle
11-10-2016, 11:32 AM
Alright i'm still having issues on windows 10 with all of this. but at this point i'm not sure whats going wrong.

I started by updating my rubygems to avoid the problems with https and certs etc.



Download rubygems_update version 2.6.8 (latest version at this time)
Install rubygems_update: gem install rubygems-update-2.6.8.gem
Run it update_rubygems --no-ri --no-rdoc
Make sure gem -v returns version 2.6.8
[Optional] Uninstall rubygems_update: gem uninstall rubygems-update -x


Then manually installed gtk2 :
gem install gtk2 -v 2.2.5

My gems list looks like this:

C:\>gem list

*** LOCAL GEMS ***

atk (2.2.5 x86-mingw32)
bigdecimal (default: 1.2.0)
cairo (1.15.2 x86-mingw32)
gdk_pixbuf2 (2.2.5 x86-mingw32)
glib2 (2.2.5 x86-mingw32)
gtk2 (2.2.5 x86-mingw32)
io-console (default: 0.4.2)
json (default: 1.7.7)
minitest (default: 4.3.2)
pango (2.2.5 x86-mingw32)
pkg-config (1.1.7)
psych (default: 2.0.0)
rake (default: 0.9.6)
rdoc (default: 4.0.0)
rubygems-update (2.6.8)
sqlite3 (1.3.12 x86-mingw32)
test-unit (default: 2.0.0.0)

but for some reason it keeps asking me to install gtk2 over and over -- any ideas?


EDIT -- Solved the problem -- after some debugging i figured out that if you just install gtk2 v 2.2.5 it automatically pulls the cairo package v 1.15.2, and you actually need to be running cairo-1.14.3. -- it looks like the only solution that you need to implement to make this work out of the box again is running the first set of steps to do the rubygems_update and then everything should work again.

Whirlin
12-11-2016, 01:05 PM
http://guides.rubygems.org/ssl-certificate-update/#installing-using-update-packages